Tesla Names Elon Musk Replacement

Robyn Denholm

Tesla on Wednesday announced that the new chairman of its board of directors is Robyn Denholm, the CFO of Australian telecom giant Telstra Corp.

Ms. Denholm replaces Elon Musk who was forced to resign as part of an agreement reached with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) over his “taking Tesla private” tweets on August 7. The deal bars Musk from serving as chairing the board for three years, though he will remain CEO.

Denholm, 55, joined Tesla’s board in 2014 and is expected to leave her position at Telstra in six months to concentrate on her new job. The automaker said in a statement that her appointment is effective immediately.

Before joining Telstra Corp., Denholm was a senior financial manager at Toyota Australia. She has also worked at Juniper Networks Corp and Sun Microsystems in California.

Image Credit: Interesting Engineering